The Final Five

The Eagles head into their final five games of the season after a bye to rest, reevaluate and some other word of your choosing that begins with R. The stakes are high: a playoff spot, potentially a division title, are on the line. The final five games have everything you could want to test where this team is: an outstanding defense to see just how good this Eagles offense is, three good offenses to see just how improved the Eagles defense is, a “trap game” on the road against a poor team and a potential winner-takes-all showdown in Dallas to end the season. With raised expectations from this team, every game remaining is must win. Grab your gun and bring in the cat.

First up, the Cardinals. Bruce Arians says things that are ridiculous, and this week was no different. Arians said that the Eagles run the read option, which is funny because they don’t–he’s confused it with the zone read–and he seems to think they run it all the time, which they don’t do either, and labelled it as a “college offense” which is almost a curse word in the NFL. I would think the guy who’s offense is below average in nearly every category and is facing an offense that is top 10 in nearly everything would give a cliche non-answer about respecting the Eagles’ potent offense. But hipsters need to have their opinions heard. Arians probably doesn’t actually think that, but that’s what he said. I guess he’s trying to get into the Eagles minds. It won’t work. Kelly’s response:

“I think basically to answer everybody’s questions, I don’t care what other people think,” Kelly said. “It doesn’t bother me. To spend time to think about what someone else thinks is counter to anything I’ve ever believed in my life. If I believe what other people think, then that means I value their opinion more than I value my own. That’s not the case.”

Short version:

That might sound like “I’m not going to admit that someone is in my head but they are in my head” talk, but it’s not. Because Chip Kelly gives the lowest amount of fuck humanly possible.

If there was a contest to see who doesn’t give a fuck the most Chip Kelly wouldn’t win because he doesn’t give a fuck.

Leave a Reply

